​January 11, 2016

Lawyer and science-enthusiast Mr Trevor Danos AM is the newly appointed Chair of the Northern Sydney Local Health District Board.

As chair he will be heading the group which oversees the strategic delivery of health care services to over 900,000 residents across Northern Sydney at Royal North Shore, Ryde, Manly, Mona Vale, Hornsby Ku-ring-gai and Macquarie hospitals.


He replaces Professor Carol Pollock, who has retired from the NSLHD Board.

Awarded an AM (Member of the Order of Australia) in the 2014 Australia Day honours for his significant community contribution through a range of scientific, education, government, legal and charitable associations, Mr Danos said he was both delighted and honoured to commence his new role.

"What could be more fundamental than ensuring patients and their families have access to the very best health services and that clinicians feel empowered and proud to deliver such services?" Mr Danos said.

"I want to make sure we provide the leadership and governance needed to make these outcomes possible," he said.

Mr Danos is the acting chair of the NSW Treasury Social Investment Expert Advisory Group, and chairs UNSW’s Science Advisory Council - as well as being an Adjunct Professor. He was previously a board member of Sydney Local Health District.

In addition to Professor Pollock, other board members who are leaving or retiring include: Ms Betty Johnson AO, Ms Diane Flecknoe-Brown, Dr Michele Franks, and Mr Peter Young who were farewelled at the end of 2016.

The other new board members are Professor Mary Chiarella, Professor of Nursing at Sydney Nursing School; NSW Ambulance Superintendent Mr Brad Goodwin; former Deloitte Chief Operating Officer Mr Keith Skinner; Dr Harry Nespolon, who is deputy chair, Sydney North Primary Health Network; and Clinical Associate Professor Saxon Smith who is a dermatologist at RNSH and AMA (NSW) Board director.